Batch 107 – Hour of the Wolf

full-moon-at-night

This is a straight up Yeti clone. I want a great, middle-of-the-road Imperial Stout for the winter and I think that Great Divide’s Yeti is one of the best. There’s a lot of buzz around more hip beers like KBS and Old Rasputin and such but I think Yeti is far better. This will be my main winter warmer. I’ve tried this before as a pilot but it’s a different recipe and I don’t know where I got it from. That beer sits in my fridge and is not as full and rich as a Yeti. This recipe is taken from the fabulous Big Book of Homebrewing:

Style: 20 C Imperial Stout. 5 gallons, OG 1,095/ FG 1,018 (est.), 74 IBU, 136 EBC, 9,6 % ABV.

78,7 % Pale ale malt
5,1 % Crystal 240
3,9 % Carafa III
3,9 % Chocolate
3,2 % Roasted barley
2,6 % Flaked rye
2,6 % Flaked wheat

Mash with the brewing water of your choice (I’m using Tasty McDole’s “other than IPA-water”: Ca 75, Mg 12, Na 35, So4 120, Cl 100) at 66 degrees C for 60 minutes or full conversion. Drain, sparge and collect 28 liters of wort with a pre-boil gravity of 1,077.

Boil for 90 minutes and add:

30 g/42,4 IBUs of Chinook (11,7 % AA) @ 60 minutes before FO
25 g/18 IBUs of Chinook (11,7 % AA) @ 30 minutes before FO
25 g/8,3 IBUs of Centennial (10,3 % AA) @ 15 minutes before FO
Yeast nutrient @ 15 min
Protofloc @ 15 min
25 g/5,2 IBUs of Centennial (10,3 % AA) @ 5 minutes before FO

Chill to 20 degrees C, transfer to fermenter and California Ale yeast (I’ll use US-05). Ferment at 21 degrees.

Package and carbonate.


Brewing notes

This was a really thick mash with 10,4 kg of malt.

BeerSmith on my keg top computer:

IMG_0015.JPG

Black as the Hour of the Wolf:

IMG_0021.JPG

One comment

Leave a Reply

